Susan Hunter Gangnam Style

All Susan Hunter needs is for someone in one country, like India, to fall in love with her, spread the love around, Imageand before you know it, she will be the next big thing (like PSY’s Gangnam Style), and the entire country will be buying the books and making fabulous Bollywood movies about Susan and Darby and their adventures.

Hey! A girl can dream, can’t she?

In October, Paula Acton tagged me for The Next Big Thing, but I didn’t realize at the time it had an expiration date. You can see Paula’s answers to her next big thing here: Voices Across The Void, A Collection of Ghostly Tales

Recently, Valerie Clarizio wanted to tag me for this, but as I was still writing for NaNo, I declined. You can read about her next big thing here: Cookies for Santa

When Chelsea Brown tagged me last Wednesday for The Next Big Thing, I thought it must be time to answer the questions. You can read about Chelsea’s next big thing here: Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

There are ten questions to answer. I’m sorry if I’ve been babbling for so long about this book that you already know the answers, but here we go …

1. What is the working title of your book?

Windy City Hunter

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Susan has been to Florida, New York, Las Vegas, and New Orleans. It was simply time to go to Chicago. My husband helped me with plot ideas in July.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

My books are all noted as mystery, but this is the first book in the series that is a true mystery throughout.

4. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I enjoy mystery books with an element of fun and even silliness. Gemma Halliday comes to mind, Laura Levine, and dare I say, Janet Evanovich.

5. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I have an image of Susan and Darby in my mind, so it’s hard to think of someone playing them. I will leave that to the casting director, but here are a couple of looks (not necessarily the right people) which are close:

Image6. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? 

Susan and Darby bite off more than they can chew when they go to Chicago for a cooking competition and become embroiled in a murder. (Nicely cliched, eh?)

7. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published – before Christmas I hope!

8. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Twenty-four days. This is my National Novel Writing Month book. I started on November 3 and finished on November 26.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I had the storyline in mind, and it was simply time for the next book in the series. NaNo lit the fire under me to start writing.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Image
The book is typical Susan Hunter. She has a knack for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Hopefully, readers will laugh with her, and if they don’t cry with her, they will
 certainly feel sorry for her at times. There are pink shoelaces on one man, a gorilla head on another, and a wise-guy investigator involved with both.

All of my books stand alone with individual story content, but the books are chronological with respect to Susan’s relationship:

#1 – Sunshine Hunter
#2 – Big Apple Hunter
#3 – Sin City Hunter
#4 – Big Easy Hunter
#5 – Windy City Hunter – due out this month!

Just in case Susan is not The Next Big Thing, here are a couple of authors whose books just might be. I tag these two fine Michaels to answer the same questions next Wednesday:

Michael (Mike) Akin – author of The Distorted Trail
12/12/2012 – Edited to add a link to Mike’s answers to The Next Big Thing.

Michael Fedison – author of young adult sci-fi/fantasy, The Eye Dancers
12/12/2012 – Edited to add a link to Michael’s answers to The Next Big Thing.

47 thoughts on “Susan Hunter Gangnam Style

  1. From what I’ve read from Sunshine Hunter, that actor fits Darby quite well! For Susan, I’ve been mostly thinking she looks like Kate Hudson, haha. I’m enjoying it so far, and I will be on the lookout for the rest in the series!

    • I actually like Kate Hudson a lot. Simon Baker definitely has the look, but he’s a tad old for Darby these days. Thanks for letting me know you’re enjoying it. I was really hoping it wasn’t the book you and Daniel were reading. 😉

    • I’m really close to the characters. They’ve been hanging around here for almost a year now, but I kind of live vicariously through Susan. Rather than a sister, I see a younger version of myself doing what she does … and I did in many cases. The books have been easy to write because I’ve been to all of the places she’s been, and I’ve done many of the things I’ve had her do.

  2. I keep hoping something I do will go viral but havin’ a heart attack has attracted more visitors to my site than anything and I don’t think I will try that again.
    I really kinda hate that I don’t have any energy anymore because I wanted to do a Bo Lumpkin Gangnam Video.
    We do what we must to get noticed don’t we?

    • Bo, you make me laugh. 🙂 If it wouldn’t offend so many people, I’d put it on the list for “how to get people to your blog.” And you would look great in your coveralls and hat dancing gangnam style. … I’m glad you’re still hanging in here with us, Bo. Keep up that boring resting, and take care of yourself. Your stories are on my list of reading material this weekend.

  3. I’m dying to read these books! top of my christmas reading list! Thanks for the support since I’ve started hugely appreciated 🙂 Lily x

    • Thanks, Kris. I wanted to use the song in the title for search engine optimization. 🙂 I’ve been editing round the clock for a few days and hope to publish the new book by the end of next week. I’ll be by soon to catch up with your blog! Hope you’re having a good weekend.

  4. Pingback: The Next Big Thing « Eye-Dancers

  5. Pingback: The Next Big Thing « sumthissumthat

Leave a comment