It’s Time to Vote Again

Murder Wears a Veil is finished. Proofreaders have caught blunders, and the book has been edited thrice. Once I get back to formatting, the book will be ready to publish within hours.

So what’s the holdup?

I’m waffling over the cover! Argh!

As most of you know by now, I’m pretty stubborn. Maybe it’s not so much stubborn as I have to go with my gut – follow my instincts – listen to my inner voice – and all that jazz.

Each of the covers in my Two Sisters and a Journalist series has the same textured background but in a different color. As this book has a wedding with an orange theme, I chose orange for the background.

I like the cover. The book is a humorous mystery, and I get a kick out of the cake on a beach in Hawaii with the bride and groom toppers scuffling. However, I’ve had a couple of comments that the “orange sky” is odd. The pink sky in Murder Welcomes You to Buxley didn’t garner any comments, so I wonder if it’s just the fact that this background is ORANGE.

MWV_orange_blue

My cover artist went back to the drawing board, made a few tweaks, and dropped in a blue sky. Now I have to decide which cover to use. I always look at all the covers together as a collection. I want the covers to look cohesive with one another.

Two_Sisters_Books_orange

 

Two_Sisters_Books_blue

I like them both! I know which way I’m leaning, but I’d like to hear your opinion before I make a firm decision.

Drop your thoughts in the comment section below. Thanks!

44 thoughts on “It’s Time to Vote Again

  1. I think nowadays most people are put off with orange because of #45. LOL
    As for me…..either way really but I lean towards the blue as I’ve seen a pinkish sky before but never really orange….maybe reddish orange? I think I know what you’ll do though. 😉

  2. Blue. I think it’ll still go with the others, but more important, it goes with the theme (beach, sea, island, sky).

    I also think the orange clashes with the orange bits on the cake. None of your other covers have that kind of visual link between the background and the foreground details.

    Finally, with the design of Murder Under Construction, it nicely bookends the series so far. When you write more, you can repeat the color schemes of the five books in between. .

    • I don’t want to say too much until I see more votes, but I appreciate your thought process. I also like the idea of repeating color schemes. I hadn’t thought of that, so thanks!

  3. Even though I’m not an orange fan fashionwise, I do like the orange cover better. It grabs your attention right away, and isn’t that what you want your book to do?

    • I agree … I think the orange grabs your attention. I’m trying to figure out if it’s in a good way or a not so good way. I keep going back and forth and back and forth and rationalizing each. Rich is ready to duct tape my mouth shut. 🙂

  4. I’ve seen every color sky imaginable, and some that aren’t.

    I kind of like the orange one, but I’m pretty weird. Go with YOUR gut. It’s a lot more dependable than mine.

  5. I like the blue sky version better. I am unconcerned whether it’s a natural colour, I just like it better. I also noticed the orange version has a cloud covering the top of the smaller hill which I guess means it had effect on my choice.

    • Thanks for your vote. That cloud almost gives a snow-capped effect. I could see that bugging me later and asking to have it changed. (So many changes to my covers over the years. 🙂 )

  6. First off, congrats! Very exciting to hear you’ll soon be releasing another book! The cover is great either way, but I lean toward the blue. Guess it’s the realist in me. 😬

  7. At first, I liked the blue, but seeing all the books lined up together, I like the orange better because it doesn’t repeat the blue sky of the first book.

    • I really like the orange for the overall branding. Then I began wondering if it mattered, because most people will buy based on seeing the book on its own rather than in the group. Hence, my waffling. I can’t believe I’m still undecided, and I have to make a decision tonight. Thank you for your opinion, Heather!

  8. Congratulations! This is a tough one – I liked the orange at first because it’s different, but I think blue goes better with the rest of the books. The blue sky might make the bride and the cake stand out a little more too. I used to be a reporter a million years ago so I’m excited to start in on this series!

    • Thanks, Sheila. I appreciate your thoughts. I’m still going back and forth. I *want* the orange, because I think it fits better with the branding concept of a different color background for each book. However, I can see the appeal of the realistic blue cover and how pretty it is.

      Murder Under Construction is free, so if you like it – great! If not, that’s ok, too. 🙂

  9. Blue sky. It’s consistent with the other books having only one color, plus blue is more appealing than orange. The orange also seems to be random whereas the blue sky makes sense.

    • Thanks, Sandy! I appreciate your thoughts. I had my cover artist send finals for *both* covers tonight. At least I’ll be ready when I absolutely have to quit waffling and make a decision.

  10. I don’t know about the others, but if you don’t agree with my choice, I will not be upset . . . deeply hurt, maybe, bordering on despondent even, but not upset.

    I kid, of course, but remember to please your own sensibility with regards to the choice of color. I used to feel a bit uncomfortable when I asked for anyone’s opinion and then sided with some and not others. Occasionally, depending who made suggestions, considering people’s feelings almost made me go against mine . . . then I got wise to the fact I’m the best person to know what I like.

    • My husband didn’t think I should ask for opinions. However, I told him it was like a focus group. Just because I want the orange (because I perceive it to be closer with the branding I want to achieve) doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t consider the blue if more people liked that cover (and they do).

      So … do I go with what I want? Or do I go with the gut feeling that the blue is more marketable and more pleasing to the consumer?

      And there you have my decision. 🙂

  11. You know that phrase “red sky in the morning, sailor take warning” well it’s usually a shade of orange when you actually see it. It has an ominous feel to it so it could be quite prophetic. I agree with you. Get very quiet and silence all the other voices and go with your gut. It’s always correct.

    • Marlene! Did you read my next blog post? When I published, I went with the majority opinion and chose the blue. It’s been bugging me all day today!! The blue cover is really pretty on its own, but when I see it with the other books, and especially with the other BLUE book, it simply doesn’t fit. Smashwords still has the book held up in review, so I went in and changed the cover to the orange one! 🙂 Then I changed it at Amazon, but it might take a few days for the change to take place. I hate to look wishy washy, and I was all set to live with the blue … but I can’t. Thanks for your thoughts!! You were right. 🙂

      • I have been away from the computer all day so I have not read your next blog post but knew what you were going to do. It’s an idiosyncrasy I have. I’m glad you are feeling better about trusting your gut. There was a huge study on gut brain. It’s the most reliable. I don’t know how to explain to anyone how I know things sometime but I’ve never missed when the knowing runs things. Trying to weave that into a book myself. I’m not a fan of orange to wear, but it felt right for your book.

Leave a Reply

