Blog Post #3

charlie_brown

Good grief.

It’s June, and I’ve only managed two blog posts so far this year.

Blogging aside, I was going gangbusters there for a while with books published in October, December, and February. My plan was to continue putting out a book every two or three months this year.

You know what they say about the best-laid plans.

I suppose the number one reason for the screeching halt of pretty much everything in my life has been health problems for several family members. I had a few months of concern with my own runaway blood pressure, and Rich has had some heart problems, but we’re both doing well now, and enough of my stress has been alleviated that I’m ready to get back to writing. I find it difficult to write humor when I have too much stress.

Our granddaughter isn’t coming to visit this summer, so my new plan is to write as much as I can over the next two months and have something ready to publish in September. It shouldn’t be too difficult, because I have works-in-progress.

Five chapters of the next book in the Two Sisters and a Journalist Series are completed. This will be book number seven – Murder Wears a Veil. There’s a bit of a prologue followed by this opening line: No one screamed when Buck Swenson threw Lucille Crabtree over the cliff to the sharp rocks and pounding surf below. Can you tell it’s a humorous scene?

Also finished are six chapters of the first book in my new series. The series will likely be three books total, and I already have covers for two of them:

Appleseed_Cozies1

Delicious Death is definitely the first book, but I think Dying for Pie will be number three. I’ll use a yellow apple on book number two, and that will give a traffic light effect – red, yellow, green. I wonder if that will have a subliminal visual/mind effect that is positive. I figure it can’t hurt. The books will be squeaky-clean, romantic cozies.

I still have Stanley Pearl hanging around, too. Three chapters of Stanley’s story are in the can, and as much fun as this book is to write, it will be a stand-alone, and it’s a bit of a departure from what I’ve been writing, so he’s on the back burner until I can decide how to present him and market him. Poor Stanley.

In other news, Rich and I were out on the motorcycle this past weekend. The weather was fantastic, and I soaked up some much-needed sun. We have a new motorcycle this year. We’ve upgraded from a 1984 Goldwing to a 1989 Goldwing. Rich actually bought it on eBay, and had it shipped to us from Utah (the picture of bike with snow on ground was taken in Utah). I have to say it’s more comfortable to ride than our old bike, but the airflow is horrible. If my hair isn’t pulled back with a million clips on the sides, it flies forward and whips my face.

motorcycle

Finally, I’ve been so distracted by life that I’ve allowed myself to escape into a video game for a while. Our son used to play the indie game Don’t Starve. I loved watching him play. I remember Rich going to bed one night and coming down the next morning to find Mike and me still in front of the television playing the game. I found several people on YouTube who posted videos of their game play, and I’ve had a ball watching them. I eventually worked up enough courage to fire up the Playstation and try playing myself. Crikey, that game is so intense, it messes with my blood pressure. I died three times the first day I tried playing, but on the second day, I managed to stay alive, and I’m currently on Day 268. I’m due for a Deerclops attack, so I’m letting a few days go by before I play again. I have to give my heart a break. Please let me know if you’ve ever played this game!

Dont_Starve

So, there you have it. An update. I’ll stop messing around, stop gaming, stop wallowing in whatever I’ve been wallowing in, and get back to writing. Maybe I’ll manage a few more blog posts this year, too. I’ll certainly be back to let you know when I have another book ready to publish.

Oh, one more thing. I enjoyed the James Patterson Master Class well enough that I’m considering signing up for Aaron Sorkin Teaches Screenwriting. I’ve always wanted to turn one of my books into a screenplay. I think it might be fun. If it isn’t, please don’t tell me.

If you’re celebrating the Fourth of July weekend, have a safe and wonderful time!

39 thoughts on “Blog Post #3

  1. Those books look both interesting and delicious. I’m interested already! I’m glad your health is a little better, those scares sound rough.

    I absolutely love Don’t Starve, though. A friend bought Don’t Starve Together for us and I can’t get enough of it. I think it’s a lot more fun with friends, especially when you’ve got a bunch of people playing over Skype together.

    Have a great weekend!

    • I’m happy you like the covers! Thank you for the vote of confidence. 🙂

      I survived my first Deerclops attack this evening! I stood next to a friendly treeguard, and there was a small beefalo herd nearby. The treeguard dealt a lot of blows to the Deerclops before he (treeguard) expired, and then the beefalos finished him off. I was a spectator! Walked away with all my health and sanity.

      I think Don’t Starve Together would be a blast. I’ve watched a few videos of guys playing together, and it cracks me up to hear grown men being startled and even screaming when chased. Such a hoot!!

      You have a great weekend, too! 🙂

  2. Get back in the saddle, woman!! And what an awesome blogpost!! (And seriously, how are you wise enough not to give yourself the guilt treatment over playing video games?!)

    (Damn it, Stan. Just be Stan and quit worrying about what others think of yourself!! How many times must you tell yourself this?!)

    Sorry… Needed to make that little note to myself. Anyway, get to writing and blogging again so you can buy a different motorcycle with better airflow! lol.

    • Stan! I can’t wait to get back in the saddle! You will have a word count from me tomorrow! It might be 50 words; it might be 5,000, but it will be something. 🙂

      And I’ll let you in on a little secret. I’ve *always* played a video game of some sort before I write. Always. I never use a game as a reward for after. I like to get my brain fired up and active with gaming before I sit down. It seems to help with endorphins and stimulating creativity. 🙂 That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!

      A package arrived in the mail yesterday. It contained some type of plastic wing thingys that attach to the bike to direct airflow. Good hubby! Fix that airflow for me!

  3. Yay for updates and new books. Sounds like you’re finding fun ways to de-stress!

    Reading about your game makes me miss gaming. I like the idea of video games to kickstart the brain.

    Happy writing!

    • Thank you! Having so many games available on my Kindle fired up my love of gaming again over the past couple of years. I just need to find a balance now, so I can write, blog, and visit blogs I enjoy, too.

      Thanks for stopping by!

    • Hi Mary! I’ve missed our correspondence but know it is due to distraction on my end. I’m envious (in a good way) that your grandchildren are coming to visit. Our granddaughter and I Facetime quite often for a couple hours at a time, so I don’t feel too distanced from her. Have a great time with your Pearlies!

  4. Awesome update! Sorry to hear about your blood pressure, I’ve battled that since my 20s. Ugh. Glad you have had some fun. Sorry to hear your granddaughter doesn’t get to visit. I cherish when my two older kids visit. Now, my daughter is moving back in with us for awhile. Good or bad, I’ll let you know. LOL Keep writing, even though I am way behind on reading your books, I must kick it in the butt. 🙂 Great to hear an update. Miss your blog posts but totally understand. 🙂 Have a safe and fun weekend.

    • Hi Julia! That blood pressure is a pain in the tuckus, isn’t it. I suppose I should be grateful that it’s the only prescription pill I have to take. It seems everyone in my family has a slew of pills they take every day.

      You’ll probably enjoy having your daughter around. Our son is back with us for a time, and I like having him around the house. He’s helpful and has a pretty good attitude most of the time.

      I’m looking forward to getting some books finished! I hate when I take such long breaks, but sometimes my mind just needs a break.

      Have a great weekend!

  5. It’s nice to catch up on your life. So often writing falls by the wayside as other things take over, but it sounds like you’ve still found time to write. All the progress on your books sounds fantastic! I’m envious!

    • With Rich and our son both on days now, I have the house to myself for a good eight hours or more. That makes it easy to write “full-time,” so I better be able to make some progress. 🙂 No more excuses.

      Hope all is well with you. Are you still traveling? I’m envious of the places you go, and the things you see!

  6. Hi Maddie! Long time no see! I just recently started blogging again after more than a year away from it. I had a crazy year . . . lost both of my parents and spent a lot of time with them during their last couple of years. It feels good to be back and it was fun to see your name in my inbox! Glad you are back too.

    • Hi Robin! It’s so good to see you. I’m sorry to hear about your parents. My mother is still with us. She has a hard time getting around, and she has some heart and lung problems, but she’s tough and managing pretty well on her own. She’s still my number one proofreader and fan. 🙂

      As I reschedule my priorities, I hope to work time in for more blog posts and getting around to read blogs. I’ll see you at your place soon.

      Have a great weekend!

    • I’m so glad you like the covers!! I know cozies tend to have covers similar to my Susan Hunter books, but I wanted to set the series apart from my other two. I knew I didn’t want people on the covers, so I went with clean white/small gray border and photos. It will be interesting to see if they are catchy enough.

      Hope things are going well on the house sale/moving front. Have a great weekend!

  7. Great to see you back here, Maddie. Life just gets in the way of blogging and writing sometimes 😉 Your books look delicious and exciting! Have a great Fourth of July weekend 😀

    • Diane! So nice to see you! I’m trying to get back in the groove, but it’s been rough. I pine for the days when I did nothing but blog and write. 🙂 I really want to catch up with you and see what’s new with the RUC (and whatever critters you’ve been posting to give me the shivers). With Rich’s health coming back around to wellness, I’m truly hoping to find a balance again. I’ll see you soon!

  8. Those book covers look eye catching, I marvel at your incredible outflowing of imagination. Take care of yourself and Rich, stress can be insidious. Never heard of the video game. Spider on the Ipad is enough addiction for me!!!

    • Hi Pauline! Here I am responding to your comment seven months later. Where does time go?

      I see you have also been taking a break. I’m thinking about resurrecting my blog and posting on a regular basis again.

      Hope you and Jack are well!

      • I know exactly what you mean about time… some how the space taken by regular blogging just seems to morph into other things. Hard to get back into the routine of dedication needed for putting up regular posts. Lovely to get your comment.

  9. Love your posts Maddie! I have been affected by blog cobwebs-itis too! I only came back to it a couple of days ago because of heartbreak.
    Anyway, love your new books! The stories, the covers, the numbers!! All of it. You’re such an inspiration!
    P.s. nope, no videogames for me, sorry. And yet, my first MS is about videogames!!! 🙂 🙂
    All the best,
    Og&bs

    • Hi, OGandB! Blog cobwebs-itis – great term. 🙂 Does “comment cobwebs-itis” work, too? I can’t believe how long it’s been. Thank you for all your kind words. Last year was a terrible slog. I’m hoping to be more productive this year and hope to see more of you soon.

  10. Don’t Starve, Dying For Pie, Delicious Death– there seems to be a pattern there, my dear Maddie! Even ol’ Stan Pearl’s a-cookin’ on the back burner… : )

    As for poor Lucille Crabtree– just her luck to be cast in a cliffhanger… : (

    Up all night, playin’ video games and gettin’ Deerclopped, and your hair whippin’ your face so you can’t see as you go careening down the road on Mr. Goldwing at 100 mph– no wonder your blood pressure’s a little high… : )

    Well, sounds like you’re doing hokey-doke in spite of it all. The new books sound great, and so does the screenplay idea: maybe a Hallmark movie with a nice cozy food-related murder in it? Sure to be a hit. Maybe you can get Rachel Ray to play the amateur detective heroine… : )

    Keep cookin’, and a belated happy new year to you!!

    • Oh my gosh! My favorite illustrator in the whole world right here in the cyberflesh! Be still my heart!

      As always, your comments make my day and make me smile for at least a month. Thanks for stopping by, and as I’m hoping to get back into the swing of blogging again, I’ll see more of you soon!!

    • Glad you like them! 🙂 The last seven months have been pretty rough, and I haven’t been able to write as much as I wanted. I just finished the 7th book in the Two Sisters and a Journalist series and will be moving on to the Appleseed books soon. Thanks for asking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

