Oh, Look! A Squirrel!

There are always fun lists around WordPress. A couple with irrationally-loved things caught my attention lately. I thought I’d share one thing I irrationally love:ImageEver since we bought our first computer nineteen years ago, I’ve been in love with fonts. When we homeschooled, we put out a monthly newsletter for the grandparents and spiced it up with fonts. I would peruse them for hours at a time, searching for just the right ones.

ImageImageImageLast evening, I was searching for a font, and I looked at all of them on Font Squirrel. I loved the test drive feature and took several of them out for a ride.

ImageImageImageThe font in my blog header is Parisian. I specifically chose it because of my French heritage, but I also liked the clean lines and couldn’t resist the curl on the Rs.

ImageImageImageI tend to like and use fonts that are on the frilly side, but I appreciate all types.

Image

What about you? Do you like fonts? Are you as obsessed with them as I am?

By the way, the samples I included – they make a list of ten simple things I love.

~ ~ ~

I caught up with a few blogs recently, but it will be a while before I’m on a regular blogging schedule again. If I haven’t been by to see you lately, I will soon. I’m still trying to rebuild my follow list. I had quite a few blogs disappear, and my reader is acting squirrelly lately and not showing all posts.

57 thoughts on “Oh, Look! A Squirrel!

  1. I am very unimaginative with my fonts. Sometimes I put captions in the photos I use on my blog or Facebook, and I always choose safe and boring. I should experiment more. (With fonts, I mean. Thought I should clarify since that sentence conjures other meanings… 😉 )

    • Thank you, Dianne! I saw your dragonflies go by in my reader not too long ago. I’ll be by soon to see just how big they were – because I know you don’t have any small bugs there. 😉

  2. Fonts are fun. 🙂 One of my design classes with the Art Institute was to design your own font. It was fun. In the beginning before social media, I use to email a lot and I would use different fonts, different colors, and even subscribed to some stationary templates. I liked being creative. I think you would really enjoy Illustrator and Photoshop with their different fonts. 🙂 The rule for headings and reading is to use clearly readable type. The fun fancy fonts are not recommended. 😦 Who likes to follow rules? 🙂

    • I remember those stationary templates for email. Every now and then someone would send an email to me with one, and I always thought they were so cool. I think Rich steered me away from them at the time. I don’t remember why.

      I think it’s pretty well established by now that I am a rule breaker, so I’d use something not recommended, I’m sure. 🙂

      I would love to see the font you made! You’ll have to include it in a blog post.

      • My hubby always said they were not good for the computer. Blah….lol.

        I like your rule breaking. I was more when I was younger, I’ve gotten to be rather tame anymore.

        We are going to head back home this weekend and I will see if I can locate my notebook I had it in. We only did the assignment on paper and in the software program. We didn’t have to actually make it a useable font. It would be neat to do one someday.

        I really enjoy your blogs, so thought provoking and engaging. Always look forward to them and everyone’s comments. 😉 Hey, looks like 60s and 70s here by the weekend. YAY!

  3. I don’t think it irrational at all to love a font. I need to take the time to install more on my computer. I don’t think my theme can be customized for them or at least I haven’t figured it out.
    Different fonts can really add to a post or whatever you are making. Some are so playful. But if you post a long read choose something boring. 😦

    • I agree – long reads in an unusual font are very hard on the eyes. Sometimes, I use my desktop publisher to make a saying or a word in a different font and then turn it into a .jpg for my blog. I don’t think I can customize my blog fonts either.

  4. Maddie, I love different fonts. I checked out Font Squirrel–would love some new ones for the Greg Appreciation Day Schedule–LOL!
    Seriously, when I had parties, I’d use different fonts for the invitations.

    • You made me Google that!!

      I’ve seen some crazy goat stuff on Twitter, but I’ve never seen a Rabid Goat font. But this is true – when I sold used books, I always looked for goat books, because some of them brought crazy big money!

  5. I love fonts too, Maddie. Ooh, I like the Ocean Waves one and that would make sense for me since I’ve lived in California most of my life. Ha ha. I just heard about Font Squirrel the other day. I’m going to check it out.

    • Hi Mary! I think that’s so cool that you collect fonts. I admit, I use Times New Roman for all of my writing and usually for emails, too. It seems the easiest for reading on a regular basis.

      I think of you often and am sorry I haven’t been in touch. I’m off to bed, but don’t have a busy schedule tomorrow and will drop an email to you!

    • I wish I had more opportunities to use them. I haven’t yet published any of my books into printed versions, but I’d like to do that later this year. I understand there are some attractive fonts that many authors are using now. I’m excited to look into them.

    • I do love a roaring fire. Fireplace or campfire is preferred, but I admit to being mesmerized by a large fire in an old building in our town a few years back. I was at the scene for a couple of hours. I don’t want to be anywhere near a forest fire!

    • It’s ok to be a plain font kind of girl. You are exciting in a ton of other ways. There aren’t too many women who sit in a hunting blind while planning and plotting a sexy novel. 🙂

  6. Before the fonts were set out in what they actually looked like on the computer, I would print off each one and have sheets of my “choices” – including the pictures that could be had from some (and a whole different set if you used the capitals!) Endless options. Wish I had such options on the blogs. Also wish I knew how to put pictures in comments, because the combo of you using the word “squirrel” and Jackie’s use of ‘easy breezy’ so close together made me think of the “Easy Breezy Cover Squirrel” picture I saw on Pinterest that cracked me up. One can find it by putting those words in the Pinterest search. -El

    • I looked up the Easy Breezy Cover Squirrel – so funny! Back in the days of elite and pica, I had no idea that other fonts and typefaces even existed! I remember cutting out letters by hand to make flyers and such. Don’t you just love modern technology! 🙂

    • You’re welcome. 🙂 Font Squirrel is fun. I wish I had more opportunities to use fonts. To use them in my blog posts, I have to turn them into pictures first. I don’t usually take the time, but I should.

  7. I had to stop by and let you know I finished reading your latest book. Found out about it by reading Jackie’s post on To Breathe is to Write. I really enjoyed your book and found it VERY well written and fun to read. You didn’t drag things out like so many mysteries do. It had a nice pace and it was FUNNY too. My favorite part is the funny. I’ve ordered my first of the Susan Hunter series and will probably read all of them now too. I love fonts too but being visually impaired, I have to be careful so I can see. Thank goodness my son showed me how to enlarge the print on the laptop screen.:) I love tea parties and a roaring fire while listening to ocean waves. I do essential oils now since so many are allergic to the perfumes. But I still love the scent of Shalimar. Wish I could get that in an essential oil. Hmmm. I’ll be stopping back now that I’ve had a chance to read your fine mystery. Oh, and I do love a good mystery.

    • Marlene, I spent some time reading a few of your posts. What an inspiration you are! You are doing more than most people dream about doing. I have a goal to one day to learn French, but it seems so daunting to learn another language. What do you think about learning German? Is it hard for you, or are you picking it up readily?

      Thank you so much for reading Murder Under Construction. Jackie was such a dear to highlight the book. The Susan Hunter books aren’t typical mysteries. Read the first, free book. If you like that, you’ll probably like the others. If not, pass on the others and wait for something in the new series. 😉

      Wouldn’t it be fun to sit on the beach in the evening, sipping tea, with a (small) bonfire, listening to the ocean waves and chatting? 🙂 Sounds like a perfect visit. As was this. Thank you for stopping by!

      • Thanks for reading and commenting as well as it appears you are following too! German grammar is the hard part. Just like French and Spanish, the language has gender and hard to learn. I understand you just have to memorize it. German was my first language and some comes back. The rest is HARD! I need to devote more time but the best way to learn any language is immersion, Going to the country and spending many week or months. I was surprised how quickly the words came back. Just never learned the grammar. Too soon old, too late smart.:)

    • Colors, fonts … even writing. A computer has certainly made being creative so much easier. I don’t know what I would be doing today if hadn’t been for the computer age. Well, I think I do know. I would be reading tons of books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

