Oblivious in Ohio

It’s early evening, and I’ve been sitting at my desk pondering what to do. Watch television? Write? Go over to the den and torture Rich? Go to the grocery store for eggs and pumpkin?

As I sat here twiddling my thumbs, trying to make a decision, a strange little icon popped up in my notifications box. Cool. I probably reached some new WordPress milestone. I clicked the box and found a congratulations notice. Ha! Today is my one-year blogging anniversary. Image

I was oblivious.

So much for a special post.

 

 

What was your post about on your one-year anniversary?Β  See you in a bit. I’m going to the grocery store.

109 thoughts on “Oblivious in Ohio

  1. Congratulations and happy one year blogging day! I was just sitting here saying to myself, “self, is it too late to eat something?”…not after seeing that cupcake picture. So I will go downstairs and eat a snack to celebrate your big blogging achievement, thank you πŸ™‚

  2. Are you back yet? Where did you find cupcakes with pink frosting?

    I see Cleveland’s in second place, really just about tied for first. You were right about that too.

    • I’m back! You can find anything online, don’t you know. πŸ˜‰

      They were in first for a while when they won six in a row. I just hope they can stay in it until they end, and we’ll see what happens when the fat lady sings!

  3. YaY!! Happy Happy Anniversary!! I am so glad you started your blog….otherwise, would our paths have crossed? Congrats and HUGS! β™₯β™₯β™₯ (now I need to go to the store….)

  4. Congratulations! My one year is coming up soon too. WP really sends you a notice? That’s so cool. I’m quite likely to forget mine, although, I’ve been thinking of what I’ll write for that day. It’s been a wild year, and I think an epic post filled with lots of great old Hollywood photos is in order. I expect a fully tooted horn when you return from the grocery store, my friend.

    • I remember finding your blog not too long after you started it, and I just had to know that lady on the playground equipment. I knew you were my kind of gal! You’ve really added to my blogging experience, Julie, and you’re a wonderful friend.

      I think you should write an epic post on your anniversary. πŸ™‚

  5. Happy 1st Blogging Birthday, Maddie! Ah & to think just about a month later I read one of your posts about your hubby and fell in blogging love with you. lol
    You were so funny & somehow I felt like I knew you forever. I remember cracking up histerically again reading about your possessed toilet & other household things going wrong simultaneously.
    *huge hugs*
    I’m glad I decided to come here & write. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t have met amazing people like you.

    P.S. Mine’s next month – bring those pink cupcakes!

    • You are so sweet, DD. I’m still many times in awe that people show up here and read my babble. Blogging has been good for me, and it’s been a real treat to meet so many wonderful people. I appreciate your friendship and your uplifting blog very much.

      Have a big party on your anniversary next month, and I’ll bring the cupcakes! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Carrie.

      I remember when you changed your theme. I liked the change. I’ve noticed several people have done that on their anniversary. I’m not one for change, so I think mine will be like this for quite a while (forever).

      Still envying you with your summer off. Thanks for popping in!

  6. Happy blogaversary!!!
    On my 1 year anniversary, I accepted a Sensual Sisterhood award.

    I’m glad you’re in the sphere, and hope you stay for a long time to come.

    • Oh boo on WordPress, Donna Jean. They should be consistent with their notifications. One of my friends was Freshly Pressed and never received a notification or a widget for the badge. WP is squirrelly at times. Congratulations on passing your one-year anniversary, too!

  7. Well Congrats my friend! big hugs to you! I’m not sure when my 1 year is, I will have to check. ha! So much for paying attention huh? Well pass that darn cupcake around. I can’t have sugar and you gave up sugar, so all we got is a picture. sighhhhh πŸ˜‰

  8. Woo hoo!!!! Happy blogaversary, Maddie!!!! Well done to you, my darling πŸ˜€

    Mine is happening in a few days – I can’t wait for the cup-cake πŸ˜€

    • The cupcake will wait for you. You’ve been building a really nice following for only six months. It seemed like six months for me just a short while ago. I think that’s why it snuck up on me. (WordPress says snuck is not a word.)

      • Ha! You’re smarter than WordPress then πŸ˜‰
        I know, right? it’s the freshly pressed storm. I’m still trying to answer all the comments… but it feels like much longer than six months!

  9. Congrats on the year. I must have been following you most of the whole time, It seems like I have known you forever. Last month was 5 years for me. I haven’t been on WordPress that long.

    • I recently found out you’ve been blogging for five years, and I was so surprised. It’s a pleasure to know a professional blogger. πŸ˜‰ Seriously, Bo, I feel like I’ve known you for years, too. I love your sense of humor, your warmth, your kindness … you are a pleasure to know, and I think everyone should get to know you. They are the ones who are missing out.

  10. What!? I thought you’d been blogging for like twenty years. Cool! I’m older than you in blog years (like dog years but with less worms.) Only problem is I always seem to quit and restart my blogging life before each year is up so I don’t have to think about it.
    Congrats!

    • I miss your old blog, but I’ve come to love the Monkestry and the antics within. I think those inmates, er, I mean, employees should do some reviews every now and then. A book review or movie review. I know this guy in Australia who has new books out. They could review them! πŸ˜‰

  11. Hey, my one year registration was one day eariler. I failed to post a one year message. Probably because I am bitter that no one got me a gift. Not even a single card.
    I registered a couple weeks before I actually posted my first entry. So there is still time for everyone to pool their resources together and get me some sort of trophy by August 6th.
    What was your very first post about? Sure I could go through your history, but that requires special mouse skills that I simply do not have this morning.

    • You registered in June, and it took you until August 6th to come up with something? I don’t know why that struck me as funny, but It doesn’t sound like you at all.

      Party at Marcus’ place on August 6th. I’ll bring the cupcakes.

      I almost included my first post since it was short. It was about my cluttered desk, and when I finally cleared it off, I looked at my rejection notices for the two picture books I had written. Both had handwritten notes of encouragement on them. A writer friend told me that it was unusual to get personal notes and not to give up. My takeaway line for the post was: “I did give up – on children’s books. At least for now. Susan Hunter showed up.”

      • I prepped my page well. I didnt have that “This is the About page” notice on my site. Every time I see one of those, I push like. Is that wrong?
        I’m thinking about rerunning the early posts. It’ll look like Im real busy. My original post hasnt been read since October.
        …and finally, Susan could have been zapped into nothingness if your original books were accepted. I like this path better.

        • I think that’s very you – and very funny – that you would leave likes on those sample about pages. Running old posts is a good idea. I don’t mind reading old posts; they’re new to me. … And what a cool sentiment about Susan. You’re right – that could have changed everything. You are such a wise man! πŸ™‚

  12. Happy Blogaversary, Maddie!!!

    I had to return to the archives to see, but I did the following: Delivered thanks, shared stats, mentioned Shania Twain’s birthday, and shared a video that I still marvel each time I see it.

    Best wishes for your continued success in year 2.

    • Thank you, Honie! I went back to look at your post, and I remember this. πŸ™‚ That was a fantastic video. I think I had only left a comment or two at your blog by then. I was following, but still shy about jumping in.

  13. I was oblivious to my anniversary. It seems like it’s been so much longer than a year, but it hasn’t. My blogiversary was just a month ago. So no special post. But you made me realize how cyclical this year has been. I started with posts about China and am getting ready to go there again! I wish I could take your cupcake with me! It looks scrumptious!

    • Happy blogiversary last month, Juliann. πŸ™‚ How exciting to be going to China again. I’ll be looking forward to your post(s)! What are the bakeries like in China? Cupcakes? Are they just like ours?

    • Thanks for stopping by, Kourtney! I, too, tend to be a random poster. There is no rhyme or reason – or schedule to my blog. I suppose that’s why the anniversary snuck up on me.

      I love grocery shopping, so it went well. I’ve recently overhauled my way of eating to healthier foods, and it makes grocery shopping even more fun. πŸ™‚

  14. Maddie, you have done amazing things in that one year. Onwards and upwards as we are fond of saying. Maddie, you are our inspiration.
    PS. Glad it was the grocery store you chose, not torturing poor put upon Rich.

    • Mary, sometimes I look back and can’t believe it was even ME who did all that stuff last year. I feel on the verge of “breaking out” again. I’m one of these people who like to have loose ends tied up before diving into new projects … and I’m almost there!

      Poor Rich. I go over to the den, flop in a chair, and bore him with all manner of topics that are of no interest to him. He tolerates me well. πŸ™‚

    • This is day six with no sugar at all, and I’m doing just fine. I’ve had almost no added salt and no caffeine. Already, I’m feeling better. It was hard to give up Coke – regular or diet, but I’ve been drinking water, too. So, as far as my health and weight go … onward and upward! Or downward in the weight department. πŸ™‚

  15. Congratulations, Maddie. It’s a good feeling being committed to something like this. The one year point is meaningful to me – mine is in September…I never stick with anything like this, haha! Seriously glad we bumped into each other – you’re a cool chick. And, you are going to owe me some major baseball cash soon too, so that’s like a bonus. πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, Adam. Blogging has been a real hoot, and I’m glad I fought back my fear and kept at it. I’m really glad Julie put me on to you; you’re one of the good guys. And, oh, if only cash were the end result! I may have a busy five days in my future. πŸ˜‰ My guys are falling apart fast. 30-30 now.

      • As, thanks. Me and Julie used to talk a lot on here. Now, not so much anymore. I gotta see what that lady is up to…

        It’s gonna be an interesting year in the Central, that’s for sure. Glad we made a bet. May the best team and/or blogger win. \m/

    • I looked. It was a fun post: 2012/09/12/whats-in-your-bag/ I was just finding you about that time (I think), because the post before that was about your squeaky bra, and I remember what a kick I got out of that post. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the congrats.

    • I can access my comments section, but I see that it is very incomplete. I’m glad I don’t rely on it to track my comments or comments of others. It may be a glitch that will clear up; if not, you might have to contact support. Hope you are well. Mom and I are off to have quarterly taxes done tomorrow. Ugh.

      • Hope you and your mum will treat yourselves to a fabulous, non sugar, outing after the tax business. That’s horrible.
        What do you mean when you say you ‘don’t rely on it to track your comments or comments of others’? I had to check your blog site for your response to me.

        • Ahhh, I see. You are referring to the orange comment box at the top of the page. I’ve noticed that it’s been squirrely lately. There for a while (a month or so ago?), it wasn’t working at all, but I have recently noticed a few comments aren’t coming through, and I have to go back to see if there was a response. I originally thought you meant the comment section in the same menu as the dashboard and widgets. Hopefully, WP will fix it soon.

          Mom and I are definitely having dinner after the late afternoon tax headache. I’m going up early in the day to do her laundry and take her for errands before we head on out for the taxes.

          • You’re a good daughter, Maddie. Someone said to me recently that my mum is lucky to have me and I responded by saying that really it’s me who is lucky to have her. Enjoy your dinner. Thanks for the help. Hugs. xx00

    • Thank you, Piper! I started writing in February of 2012. I had just published the first three in May, and at the beginning of June, I thought it would be a good idea to start the blog to chronicle what happened from there on out. It’s been a crazy ride! πŸ™‚

  16. AD can say “Hips? Who cares???” She doesn’t have hips – well normal womanly-sized hips. I’ve had womanly sized hips since I was 5. OK, 10. Now at least the rest of me has caught up to my hips. πŸ™‚ Hips? Ugh! What are they good for? (Actually I’m grateful that they work!) Have a great week, Maddie πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

