National Novel Writing Month – Day One

Thursday, November 1, 2012

9:00 a.m. – Drag myself out of bed after six and a half hours of sleep. Brrr. It’s cold. Remind myself to find the time to work on clothes warming invention before it gets really cold.Image

9:30 a.m. – Take out dog. Make a cup of cocoa. Clean off my desk in preparation for big writing day.

10:00 a.m. – Show up at a blog and drop a haiku. Mess around reading blogs for a while, write and send an email.

12:00 – Surf websites looking for floor map of condo in Chicago. Walk around the streets of Chicago with Google Street View. Oh, look! A squirrel! Make myself stop surfing clothing stores and go back to condos. Zillow sucks me in, and I shop for my own condo.

1:30 p.m. – Finally have floor plan, room samples, and list of condo amenities. Crap! There’s no paper in the printer and none in the house.

1:45 p.m. – Play a few rounds of computer game.

3:00 p.m. – Drop a comment on a blog and leave a typo. It’s a curse. Read more blogs.

4:00 p.m. – Take out dog again. Did he really wait this long to ask to go out? Converse with hubby about dinner. Leftover spaghetti?

4:15 p.m. – Microwave still dead. Pile leftover spaghetti and sauce in baking dish, top with Parmesan cheese, and plop into the oven.

4:30 p.m. – Run to store for chocolate. Pat myself on back for remembering to buy paper.Image

5:15 p.m. – Hubby home. Dinner is good. Spaghetti is always better the next day – or was it from last week?

6:15 p.m. – Crash on sofa in den and play Dr. Mario with hubby. Crank up music and realize Pitbull and Flo Rida both have new songs out. Hubby loving and singing along with new Rihanna tune; I’m not so sure I like it. I am tonight’s champion. Yay!

8:00 p.m. – Back at my desk. Ok, I’m ready to write. Ready, set … oh, look! A squirrel!  Country Music Awards are on.

8:25 p.m. – Text from son; he works afternoons. Haven’t seen him for a while. Decide to run up and see him over his lunch break.

9:30 p.m. – Back home. Country Music Awards are still on. Fast forward to catch up live. Motorboatin’!

11:00 p.m. – Awards over. I can write for a couple of hours now. That’s plenty of time to crank out more than 2,000 words. Commercial comes on for Nashville with that cute girl from Heroes, Hayden Panettiere. Hey, I missed that last night. Find it online to watch missed episode.

Midnight – Nashville over. Take out dog again. Dog goes to bed. Hubby sleeping on sofa. Now I can write!Image

12:10 a.m. – Grab notebook and start handwriting notes for first scene. No actual manuscript writing, but look at me! I’m accomplishing something!

12:15 a.m. – Oh, look! A squirrel! My dvr is recording something. What am I recording now? Check the listing and see Project Runway is recording. Well, I’m not waiting to watch that! It’s the All Stars.

12:30 a.m. – Give up on writing and put together a blog post chronicling first day of NaNoWriMo while I watch Project Runway. After all, this blog was originally intended to track my writing journey.

National Novel Writing Month – Day 1 – Number of words written: ZERO

Blasted squirrels.Image

61 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month – Day One

  1. Ahahaha. Oh Maddie. I was amused by how easily you got distracted by everything. The “Oh, look! A squirrel!” made me laugh. But hey, at least you have chocolate and some notes! 😉

  2. A very productive day, I am impressed…you may not have written any words, but you have gained a wealth of new experiences to write about…and fueled your writing mind with a lot of healthy (ahem) food.

  3. Love your writing, it always makes me laugh. Your days sound like mine ….. now where is that squirrel ….ohhhhh Mr. Squirrel ?!!! The chocolate cake looks fantastic !

    • Thanks, Rita Kay. The squirrel distraction seems to be the sound bite of choice lately, and I can relate. … I love cake. If I could walk into my kitchen and have any treat I want, it would always be cake.

    • I am proud of myself. It was a good day. I had a huge smile on my face when I typed the word ZERO. It seemed so funny to me. It wouldn’t be me if I went with the flow and did it right. 🙂

  4. It’s truly an overstimulating world in which we live today. I empathize – yesterday I wrote just over 2000. Today, I haven’t written one word yet. Maybe I should get off of WordPress…

    • Now, you’re talkin’ my language, but what could you possibly mean? 😉 Chug-a-lug? One of my favorites, but doesn’t fit. Do Wacka Do? That’s closer to my personality. But maybe you were thinking Hard Headed Me. 🙂 … Spill it.

  5. hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha that was hilarious! I laughed all the way through and even now! Thanks I needed that! Well tomorrow’s another day Scarlett Good luck! Have fun!

  6. Thanks for the laugh and the reality check. we are not alone oh wait that is my Nano story umm what i meant was we all have talking dogs in our head . . . nope not that oh blast you for posting CAKE!

    • We definitely have talking dogs in our heads here. 😉 But no cake. I’m on a roll today and cranking out the words like I’m supposed to. I might have to run out for more m&m’s though. Who knew m&m’s could be a muse?

  7. Argh! All I can think about again is how you both play Dr Mario! All I got to play this week was 5 mins of NES while my 1 yr old had fun pressing reset. I need friends.
    Anyway… love your post! So true! All writers have days like this! Can’t wait to read your book at the end now that I’ve been there for day 1!

    • Your boys are young. You are sooo lucky. You have many years of game playing ahead of you. We played tons of video games on all systems over the years, but they never took over our lives. Our kid still spent summers outside and doing other things in the winter (indoor bike parks), but we made video games a family affair. I miss those days. Still fun to play with hubby though. … I just checked your page about your writing. You are awesome! You have stories with dogs!

    • Thanks, Devin. So glad to hear I’m not the only one. Unfortunately, it happens all too often. What an adventure you have going on in your life! From Minnesota to Australia. I’ll be by soon to read more. 🙂

    • Thanks, Marie. I finally got a good start today, and I plan on writing through the evening. I should be where I need to by by Monday. Now if I can just keep the distractions at bay through the week.

    • We are underway! Susan is presently waiting in line in a gas station restroom, and the lady she whacked with the door as she bolted in there isn’t happy. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Connie.

  8. Sounds like my day today except its the cat not squirrels causing me problems (the cat normlly totally unsociable has decided today she wants my undivided attention and will sit on anything that gets in her way including keyboards, tv remotes and coffee cups – don’t ask)

Leave a Reply

