I Adore My Husband (Part Two)

ImageMost people would say their husband is their best friend. I would say that, too, but my husband is my best friend and best girlfriend all rolled into one.

We chat about everything. He has been known to crimp my hair and enhance the color. He proudly wears pink and yellow. He shops. We were in a fabric store not too long ago, and he was oohing and aahing over fabrics while I was whining, dragging my feet, and wanting to go home. He sings the female backup parts to songs. He sheds tears when something touches his heart.

The flip side is that he is a manly man and is comfortable in flannel. He can fix anything, build anything, and solve any problem – at least in my world. He used an employment service the last time he looked for work. He had to take a test so they could pigeon-hole him into a few types of jobs. The workers said the test results showed he was one of the rare people who could literally do anything. I believe it.

Image

Single malt, no rocks for hubby.

I don’t mind that he smokes cigars and drinks an occasional Scotch. There’s something about those skinny cigars and a glass of Scotch neat that makes him too sexy for his pink shirt.

Women love him; men appropriately like him (although I recall a few men who would have liked to have loved him). He has a wonderful sense of humor, and not a day goes by without him making me laugh in some way.

Which brings me to today. Today I decided to delete old email and text messages on my computer and my phone. Of course, I first had to look for the gems he has sent to me since the last time I did this and embarrassed him back in August. Here we go …

There are still sweet greetings:

Good morning, honey pie.

Good morning, princess.

As well as some news from the overnight, and before he actually starts work:

Did you have fun punching me in the face last night?  What did I do to you?

Pete had a three-pooper this morning. Yippie.  He was a proud beagle.Image

I love you. I hope you’re still snoring and making spit bubbles.

Comments regarding his day at work:

Everyone who comes into my office today has commented on my banana.  They want to touch it.  I understand Debbie and Sue wanting to, but Steve and Bob?  Not so much.

Sometimes a random thought comes through:

Humpty says “Grab ‘em in the biscuits.”

We frequently talk about food as we try to eat healthier:

I’m starving. I’ll have bread and water for supper.

I want to run uptown and have a margarita, chips and salsa. Then go Imageto Wendy’s for a large chili and a single with everything but cheese, and wash it down with a large frosty. Then swing over to Taco Bell for an enchirito and a couple choco-taco’s. On the way home, stop at the gas station and pick up chocolate peanut butter cup ice cream for a light snack.

 

After I asked what he wanted from the Chinese place:

I guess the chicken with the big black snotty fungus flaps.

Some days he’s in a hurry to come home:

Just over an hour before I can leave to come home to my bride. I CAN’T WAIT.

Papa’s comin’ home, and he’s NAKED. I hope I don’t get pulled over along the way.

After I sent him the video of Greenback Boogie, which I liked:

Now there’s five minutes of my life that I’ll NEVER get back.

When I asked him to help me with the bacon limericks:

You want a dirty or a clean limerick? Dirty I can do in a flash. Clean may take me a few weeks.

Bacon peppered, smoky and thick,
Frying it fast is part of the trick.
Along with some eggs,
Or eaten alone,
Rub on your ears and use as cologne.

The day he needed to get something off his chest:

Our town’s finest was out in front of the house last weekend talking to the “Kettle Kids.” I figured he told them to stay away from the road and not play there. You know, doing his civil duty. I just mowed the grass, and I now know why the cop stopped. The Kettle’s were out there busting hell out of our slate sidewalk. There are enough slate chips out there to arm the entire Sioux Tribe with arrowheads for the next friggin’ ten years.

Just this week, after a wind storm ripped the power lines away from our house, and the surge fried our microwave:

I’m taking my dish of leftover spaghetti to the Circle-K. They have microwaves over there.Image

There are still sweet closings:

Hugs ‘n smooches

I love you, my princess.

I Adore My Husband (Part One)

68 thoughts on “I Adore My Husband (Part Two)

    • If truth be told, he does way more in the way of niceties for me, but I can always make him laugh. I tend to be expressive, emotional, silly … and I can weave a good story. I think I entertain him. 🙂

  1. That’s so sweet! he sounds like a real keeper. I laughed so much when I read that he sings the
    female backup, -it’s like me and my husband. He always let me be Jay-Z (and he’s Rihanna):)

  2. Aw that’s so sweet! I’ve recently taken to writing down the crazy things my boyfriend says that I find are sooo witty and hilarious. These are the things worth remembering huh?

  3. Maddie, my dear, it looks like your husband and mine are cut from the same cloth–a colorful, soft, sweet, warm ,charming-and FUNNY cloth that we would ooh and ahh over at the local fabric store. Would love to meet him–oh yeah, and you too.

      • Oh yeah. Understood. I am working on my entry for the Romance Monday blog along offered up by Edward Hotspur, and I’m finding it very difficult. He’s invited his readers to submit an entry every Monday. I thought I would tell our story, but now I’m not so sure. Maybe I shouldn’t write about us, but as far as romance goes, that’s all I know. This will be a very up close and personal look inside of me and my heart. Including when it when it was very broken. Just the story of how we met is proving to be almost too emotional to put in words. Gaaaa! this isn’t me at all! Ha Ha.

  4. Your husband is adorable.Mine sends me stupid internet pictures, or videos (like bulldogs on trampolines). He’s also my fashion consultant. He helps me with the placement of odds and ends, like feathers and ribbons.

    • Isn’t it nice to have a husband who is genuinely interested? Having a fashion consultant would be fun. Mine loves stupid internet videos, but he knows I won’t take the time to watch them, so he has to laugh at them by himself. 🙂

    • You would think after all these years, we would have settled into our own ways of reading, relaxing, fishing, yard work … a quiet, mature relationship/existence. I have no clue how to get there, or if we ever will. We are definitely having too much fun!

    • The funny thing was that I dragged him there because I wanted fabric to make my own cover for my Nook. I don’t even sew! He couldn’t get out of the brocades for a while, then he was in the animal prints. The ladies at the counter loved him!

    • And when he comes home from work today, his head will swell so big from all of these nice comments, there won’t be any room in the bed for me tonight. 🙂 (But he is a gem. I know you have one, too.)

  5. He’s a keeper!

    My hubby and I have very similar text, email and personal conversations. I remember one night he was out with his friends. He’d only just got his new phone and he rang to tell me he was about to get into a cab. He got into the cab and put his phone in his pocket and forgot to turn it off. At first I was yelling into the receiver ‘turn your phone off!!!’ – but then he started talking about me…
    The cabby asked him if he’d had a good night and he said it was great to catch up with his mates, but he really wanted to get home to his wife. The cabby asked what his wife was like and he said she was the most beautiful and kind woman he’d ever met in his life and he was the luckiest guy alive. He said he’d been married for twenty years and said he could never live without this woman because he loved her so much. After about five minutes I hung up in tears! When he got home he could see I’d been crying and was really worried. I told him about the phone conversation and he laughed SO loud. He said ‘I’ll make really sure from now on that I turn that damn phone off!’ What a honey he is 🙂

      • It made me really teary. You know how men say they love you and you think they’re saying it because you’re standing there and they’re your husband, etc…

        It was AMAZING to hear him say it to someone else, not knowing I was listening! 😀 One of the best things that’s ever happened in my life

  6. I know this wasn’t the point of the thread, but tell me more about your beagle! We have a 6 month old pup. Everyone told me she would be untrainable, as beagles are ‘known for it’. I think she is great!

    • Oh, I don’t mind. Dogs #1, husband #2 in our house. 😉 We’ve had Pete from a pup, and he’s been wonderful. I don’t recall that he chewed up any shoes or furniture, but we always had things around for him to chew on – even stuffed animals. He’s very food driven, so it was easy to train him, and he is crate trained. The constant use of the words, “potty outside” when we were training him helped tremendously. We do have to take him out on a leash or he’ll take off running. I’ve known people who have had beagles for years only to lose them when their nose got a whiff of something they couldn’t resist. Oh, one other thing my husband did – he bought a separate, fairly long leash and looped it around the leg of the sofa in the den. In the evenings, he ties Pete up in there with him, so he doesn’t have the run of the house, but still has companionship. Everyone else in the house gets a break for a while and the dog settles down, too. We’ve done this for about five years, and Pete actually runs over there for his leash time.

  7. Pingback: A Note To Readers: New Featured Posts Are Now Up! | Good Morning, Joe

  8. Fun! Love your limerick by the way. I mail order bacon for hubby and I and he is now spoiled and wants it every Sunday. We had a black out for 5 days with Hurricane Sandy and he was sad his bacon had to be tossed.

    • Winnie, I’m sorry about the power loss, and the loss of your bacon (as well as a lot more food, I’m sure). Where do you mail order it from? Just last weekend, my husband went to a friend’s house to help fix his computer, and they paid him in bacon! I’m serious – 7 pounds of bacon! It’s in the freezer. He sent a text to me last night and said bacon and eggs for supper would be just fine. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Saturday’s Relationship Spiels Featured Post “I Adore My Husband Part Two” | Good Morning, Joe

  10. Pingback: Breezy Books

Leave a Reply

