I Wanted to Write a Foodie Mystery

I love to cook. I started out as a baker. Out of five children, I was the one who baked the cookies, made the brownies, and baked the cakes from scratch.

My dad was a great baker. He made a buttercream coffeecake that was out of this world. Every weekend in winter, he would be in the kitchen baking bread. When I was old enough, he taught me. I still remember the first time I baked it by myself. We took a loaf down the street to Grandma, and she proclaimed it to be as good as Dad’s. I was overjoyed.

Sometimes he would surprise me, and after we had made the bread, we’d make cinnamon rolls, or on rare occasions, homemade raised donuts.

I don’t remember when I crossed over from baker to cook, but I do remember my very first cookbook was Trader Vic’s Book of Mexican Cooking. My family acted as some pretty great guinea pigs while I worked through that book. I still use many of the recipes today.

At one time, I had over 100 cookbooks in my collection, and I didn’t just collect them, I cooked from them. I’ve thrown a few large parties and cooked all of the food myself. I think I’m a good candidate to write a foodie mystery.

But I have nothing. I think on it and dream on it, and there’s nothing there. There is poisoned food in my thoughts, and I’ve chopped people up with butcher knives. Blech! I’m not going there.

So, I did the next best thing. In my books, Susan and her neighbor across the hall, Darby, do a lot of cooking together. They make a lot of the same things I make with the same results – stunning failures or fantastic successes. They put their best recipes in a recipe box and call it the Keeper Box.

I put the Keeper Box on my Breezy Books web page. Clicking on it takes you to a page of some of the recipes that were cooked in the books. When the fourth book is done, I’ll have two more recipes to add – Summer Chicken and Rhubarb Pie with a Never-Fail Pie Crust.

I guess in my own way, I’m writing foodie mysteries after all.

10 thoughts on “I Wanted to Write a Foodie Mystery

  1. I’m really enjoying your posts on your writing process and how the Susan Hunter books came to be and are evolving. Thanks!

    • Thank you so much. It’s been fun. The fact that I wanted to write a story to try to sell on Smashwords, and it turned out to be three – soon to be four – books, still makes me laugh. Having company is keeping me from catching up with blogs, but I did see your last two posts and enjoyed them very much.

  2. Food and cooking are centerpieces in my novel. The main character searches for her mother’s beef stroganoff recipe in order to feel closer to her (mom is deceased). Funny how food is so central to life and love.

    • Yes, it is. My grandmother made wonderful, soft sugar cookies. They were large and iced with pink icing – always pink icing. I tried for years to replicate her cookie with HER recipe, and they were never the same. Her cookies were magic. … When will your book be available for purchase? I’m definitely interested!

    • Janet Evanovich is my guilty pleasure. A friend put me on to One for the Money in November of 2008, and I read all fourteen books plus the three in-betweens in two weeks. I’m caught up with all of her books, and Wicked Business is on my desk waiting to be read. I purchased it in a hardcover. 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation!

  3. My dad was the baker of our family too. And like yours in the winter he would bake bread and rolls. Sometimes as a treat he made doughnuts. Funny how a like that is with us. Me I love to cook and can cook just about anything, but a baker I am not. Too restricting for me I think. I don’t like exact measures and stuff like that. I love that you like to cook also. And that you got to put that love in your books. 🙂

    • I don’t hear of too many dads baking any more, do you? I tend to do most of my cooking with recipes. There are a few things I can throw together by feel and tasting, but I never had a natural knack for cooking. I’m on way over to your place in a few minutes to see what I’ve missed lately! 🙂

      • Huh, I never thought about but yeah, you don’t hear of many dads baking anymore. Too bad. I have always loved to cook and I’m always throwing together ‘concoctions’. I use recipes sometimes, but more as a basic guideline. Unless I”m baking, which I hardly do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

