Tune Out the Noise

Yesterday, my husband and I took a two-hour ride through Amish country on the motorcycle. The day was sunny and 86 degrees; the route was full of sweeping curves and rolling hills. We left during the hottest part of the afternoon. It’s my favorite time to ride.

I listen to my mp3 player on the loudest setting. I tend to listen to top 40 with a little hip-hop thrown in. Before we left, I added Rita Ora’s new song, How We Do (Party), to my list.  Wild Ones by Flo Rida is another recent addition, and a ride isn’t complete without playing Uprising by Muse as we head back into town.

I don’t know what it is about listening to loud music on the motorcycle, but I think about my writing at the same time and ideas just keep coming. Yesterday, I worked out a short story from beginning to end. I don’t have time to write it yet, so I jotted down notes for later.

I know I’m a Type A personality, and I’ve always been a little hyper. When I worked in an office setting, I worked best under pressure. I tend to do everything a bit like a whirlwind. It’s not uncommon for my husband to find me at my desk with music blaring while I’m working on my book. But then, I grew up with four siblings. There was a lot of noise in our household. If you wanted to read or do homework, you learned to tune out the noise.

I can’t write when it’s quiet. The silence is deafening.

4 thoughts on “Tune Out the Noise

  1. I can relate to the noisy household bit. It’s always so loud, but I’ve gotten used to writing and working amidst it. Music does help!

    • Maybe noise stimulates creativity in some people. Do you think? My mother was pretty cool when we were growing up. She bought all the top 40 music of the day, and she also played the piano. She was a big source of the noise in the house – musical noise. I can thank her for my appreciation of all genres of music, and I enjoy writing with music.

  2. Hi, I’ve just nominated you for The Beautiful Blogger award! I can tell you it dramatically increases how many follower’s you’ll have reading your blog if you accept! Please go to my blog and accept your award at, The Beautiful Blogger Award as the buttered sun tastes GREAT!
    Here’s my link http://www.lightningpen.com

  3. Now this is where we are on completely different paths. In my mom’s house the music had to be played very softly or not at all. She hated noise, unless she was making it. We weren’t allowed to have friends in the house either. My mom is, well she is a bit difficult. So now I find I love the silence. Not because of Mom, just because I love to listen to silence. When I write I can’t have tv, radio or anything else on. It has to be quiet. I love music. Almost too much, as I get caught up in the music and forget to write!

Leave a Reply

